top of page
Writer's pictureVision Chronicle

Church Fashion Today

Updated: Nov 27, 2019

CHURCH FASHION TODAY

Written by: Crystal Chislum


Pastor Melvin Cheeks, Associate Pastor of Kingdom Fellowship Christian life Center in Louisville Kentucky. He is featured and interviewed in the Church Fashion Today article of the November 2019 issue of the Vision Chronicle magazine.


VC: Pastor Cheeks, you grew up in a Christian household. Which denomination of believers did your parents profess?

MC: I grew up in the Faith of The Church of God in Christ. My father was pastor.


VC: As a "Preacher's Kid" did you feel an extra commission to be exemplary as a youth in CHRIST?

MC: As a child, I was basically like any other kid. I just wanted to fit in. Whether it was at school or church.

VC: I, myself, grew up in the Pentecostal faith. My mother was an ordained Evangelist. I've noticed that some of us "Preacher's Kids" go a separate way in life that does not involve any aspect of ministry. What was the bond and assurance between you and the Lord that gave you the Vision to keep you steadfast to be a Christian leader of both your own family, Associate Pastor of Kingdom Fellowship CLC and in the community?

MC: Again those were moments as a youth where I wanted to fit in. As with anyone coming of age, you experiment with life. You try different avenues of the young life. But, I had a praying mother. My mother's constant prayers upheld me. She was a prayer warrior and I was covered. As I matured, I knew my calling in the Lord.


VC: As a family man, tell us about your beautiful and amazing wife who is also a ministry leader at Kingdom Fellowship CLC with your children and grandchildren.

MC: My wife Clarice Cheeks and I will be celebrating our 43rd wedding anniversary next month in December. We were high school sweethearts, a total of 50 years together. We were blessed with 3 daughters; Autumn, Jennifer and Ashley. In return they (my daughters) have blessed us with 3 grandchildren; 2 grandsons and 1 granddaughter.


VC: Over time, how has the appropriate dress code in the "Church," if you will, evolved from what you remember in your lifetime, thus far?

MC: The dress code in the Pentecostal church was very restrictive. The woman could not wear open toed shoes, wigs, make-up, jewelry, short skirts (knee length), short sleeved tops. The men had to dress in dress shirts, slacks, a tie and even a suit.

Now the dress code is more relaxed. There is more freedom in church apparel. It's more comfortable.

VC: As a fellow member of Kingdom Fellowship CLC, I have never seen you in the "heavy dark holiness church traditional apparel." For example, the white pants you may perfectly match with any blazer, the beige linen suits or any of your modern fashionable wardrobe on any given Sunday. For those with a history of strict conservative Christian longevity would possibly feel that wearing such bright colors are too liberating and less humbling in a walk before God. What is your answer to this old time thought?

MC: I will give the credit to my mother. She never dressed us with the trends or passing fads. My mother dressed us verý classy. Timeless. Things that will never go out of style. As far as the white pants, I have always worn white pants or jeans my entire life. I just like them! My cousin also wore them as well. I would go to play football as a boy and the other boys would say, "Here he comes with white pants on [laughter]!"


VC: Associate Pastor Cheeks, as a grandfather and in a final thought or statement, concerning modern trends and styles, how would you navigate the youth in wardrobe and appearance while maintaining being a Spiritual Leader and a beacon of a comfort zone of acceptance?

MC: I will/ would say Be Yourself. Don't get caught up in the pressures of the latest trends. Be appropriate. Just Be Yourself.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page