top of page
Writer's pictureVision Chronicle

TV Review: When They See Us

Updated: Jun 29, 2019

Review Written By: Deborah McDonald

On May 31, 2019, the world’s greatest horror series came out. But it didn’t present itself as a horror series. It presented itself as a true story. A true story of #five teenage boys: #Korey Wise, #Kevin Richardson, #Antron McCray, #Yusef Salaam, and #Raymond Santana, forever known as

the Central Park Five. The series explores the lives and the families of the teens whom, in 1989 were suspects in the Central Park jogger case. In 1990, they were charged with the #rape and #assault of a woman in #Central #Park, New York City.


The story was written and directed by Ava #DuVernay. She did a great job at showing the stories through the eyes of the teenage boys. I watched in complete horror and grief as the boys were treated so unjustly. I #screamed and #cried as I witnessed them go from interrogation to #court, and then as they suffer though #prison. Even though I knew the story, I kept hoping that their circumstances would change. Their story was personal to me and the #scariest thing I have ever seen in my entire life. As I watched the movie, all I wanted to do was to grab my nephews and hold them. It was a #horror movie.


However, it is a necessary movie to watch because of its profound message. It is THAT revealing. This movie deserves to be added to the Black #History roster of movies like "#Roots". That’s what it is; our "Roots" series. Everyone should see it to know, if just for a moment, what it is to be us.


To be black in America.


5 out of 5 crosses.


Vision Chronicles “Cross” Meter:


5 Crosses - “And Heaven and Angels sing….” This was truly anointed!

4 Crosses - “TGBTG” This endeavor was “sho’nuff” blessed!

3 Crosses - That was decent. Good-ish. The saints are pleased.

2 Crosses - Pray for Me. What made me watch that?

1 Crosses - I can’t get that time back. Pray for them.

0 Crosses - The Devil is a Liar.


Review Written By: Deborah McDonald


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page