top of page
Writer's pictureVision Chronicle

Interview with Kriss Liss

Updated: Nov 27, 2019

Interview by: Rekkai Steed

Every now and then, you stumble upon a rare find. An old box of comics in an unwanted storage. A rare antique that for some odd reason is on the table at a yard sale only priced at a few dollars. That beautiful person who not only returns your glances but wants to get to actually know you. That out of print, discontinued album from your favorite artist of all time that falls into your lap from the bargain bin. This is not that type of find, but rare nonetheless.


Krystal Gilbert is a mild-mannered young woman with an incredible passion to serve God through music. She has found her voice through rap and song and is about to put the Louisville “502” area code on the map of the christian rap music scene.


Tell us a bit about WHO IS KRISS LISS?

I'm an artist and music producer from Louisville, KY. My musical mission is to encourage others to get to know Jesus.


How long have you been singing/rapping?

I've been rapping and singing for as long as I can remember! My dad ran a recording studio out of our house, where he recorded local Hip Hop and R&B artists. And my mother is a gospel choir director. So I was immersed in a musical atmosphere that groomed me from birth to pursue my musical passions.


How do you classify your genre of music?

I call it Christian Hip Hop and R&B; a modern sound and a timeless message.


How did you begin on this path of making christian music? Did you ever make secular music?

Yes, I started out making secular music. My dream was to be a "superproducer," as it's called. I

didn't aspire to be an artist myself, at first. I actually aspired to produce hit songs for other major label secular artists. From high school to my junior year in college, I spent time "shopping" songs

to major artists, in the hopes that they would record them for their own projects. While in college pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Music Business, I was offered a production deal. But I decided that the deal wasn't right for me and I turned it down. Declining the deal caused me to question my life's purpose. Thankfully, I ran to God for the answers to my questions. I was reading the Bible on my own for the first time and spending more time with Him in prayer. Through that, God began to shift my perspective on life and eventually, I realized that God was calling me to write songs for myself. So I decided to become an artist and write songs that gave Him glory. In May of 2015, I graduated with my Bachelor's degree in Music Business from Indiana University Southeast. In October of that same year, I released my debut single, "Glowry."


What is the biggest difference between your music back then and now?

Back then, I treated songwriting as something separate from myself and my beliefs. I wrote and sang things that I didn't agree with to sound relevant to the culture. I wanted music to be my ticket to significance, riches, and fame. But now, I've grown in my knowledge of God and I try to write music that reflects that knowledge. I realize now that my significance can't be measured by material standards. My worth lies in how God loves me and sees me- I am his daughter. Before, I participated in a system that promotes death. Now I submit myself to Christ's kingdom, striving to promote the wonderful gift of life we've been offered via the Gospel.


What is your process for creating music?

I usually start by making the beat. The beat itself tells a story- I try to find that story and write lyrics to verbalize it.


Musical influences?

I'd say my biggest influences are Timbaland and Lauryn Hill.


Favorite projects from other artists? Who is Kriss Liss listening to? (local and national)

One album I consider to be a classic is The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. I listen to a lot of Hip Hop and R&B, both new and old. I genuinely enjoy the sound of those genres.


Who are some artists that you would love to work with (local) (and national, but dead or alive dream session top picks for producer/DJ/singer/rapper/band/videographer/celebrity)?

I used to keep a list on my phone of all my "dream session" artists! I'm sad that I lost that list. Off the top of my head, here are my picks:

Songwriters: James Fauntleroy, Frank Ocean

Producers: Timbaland, Salaam Remi, Kanye West, Ludvig Gorransson, Mark Ronson, Kirk Franklin, Jon Bellion, GAWVI

Artists: Chance the Rapper, Xavier Omar, James Blake


What are some of your goals that you plan to accomplish in the next year?

I love business, especially the business of music. My goal in the next year is to find a sustainable system for my music career. This has been a pivotal year for me spiritually. It was difficult, and my faith has been tried and refined. God lead me to a wonderful local community of believers called New Breed Church. This year felt like the start of a new spiritual journey for me. So next year, I'll continue that journey. I plan to spend more time in my Bible and more time in prayer. I plan to increase my theological knowledge and seize more opportunities to spread the Gospel.


Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself running a successful music business. I see myself also starting another business or businesses. I see myself mentoring youth and doing more charitable deeds.


This single "Glowry" is really powerful and should be seen by everyone. It tells a story that everyone can relate to. Even if you are not into rap, this is an artist that anyone can get into. She is a wonderfully gifted songstress with a message and a purpose. And God has seen fit to get all that He can from her to spread His glory. Hallelujah. It’s definitely a must listen to and must see type of video. Stay tuned to all new music from Kriss Liss. Go to her YouTube channel and subscribe, share, comment and like. You won’t regret it.


Click the picture below to go to her latest video “Glowry”


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page