top of page
Writer's pictureVision Chronicle

The Transition

Updated: Jun 22, 2019

Written By: Rashad Bishop


We often hear about Black men being a #threat in our world. This couldn’t be further from the truth. As an educated Black man and #Christian, I am attempting to help change that inaccurate narrative, but the road is not easy.


With prayer, I have remained #faithful, #determined, #equipped, and #focused on God. This divine connection has strengthened me along my life journey of experiencing various tests and trials, especially as a #college student. Just like my mother has always said, “prayer is what’s best for you- and not just on bad days.” However, this saying made the most sense as I prepared to attend college as an #undergraduate student.


The night before I went to #college, my father spoke with me about the importance of #accountability. Going to church was not a problem for me because it was the #foundation of what I was born into. The Cathedral Church in Frankfort, KY was there for me and the members were kind enough to encourage me throughout my early and later college years.


As I reflect on my college experience at Kentucky State University (KSU), I can say that it taught me about the true meaning of #responsibility and how to not only get everything finished, but to

have a straight #perspective in what may come my way. London Flunder, Lyric Pickens, Ervin Webster, Janessa Graham, Darrell “Trae” Faulkner, Dominique Shaw, Anaiah Anderson, and Justin Richie are people who I came across at #KSU during the years of my #undergrad and are members of Kingdom Fellowship. They all have #professional occupations that have flourished from the time we all met as college students and they have a great #passionate love for Christ. Minister Shaunricka Holbrooks of #Kingdom Fellowship gave me her #blessing before the time came for me to leave for college and she has always been a great friend and sister to me and for those around her.


Since #graduating from KSU, my whole outlook on life has changed. The #connection with people who share the same culture as me, has been most #positive. Now, that I’m a college graduate and employee, life has been interesting with more #responsibilities. Every day, I look at life differently because of what I learned from college #classes, textbooks, online #assignments, meetings, and one-on-one #conversations with my peers and elders, as well as from my work life. Both have taught me the benefits of #structure, #organization, and #independence.


Despite the #obstacles, these two #transitions taught me that no matter what comes, there’s no turning back when my feet hit the ground, especially when God is guiding my steps.


Written By: Rashad Bishop

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page