top of page
Writer's pictureVision Chronicle

RIGHTEOUS vs. RATCHETT

Updated: Jun 29, 2019

Written By: Deborah McDonald


Why are we okay with a club dress code but not willing to put the same effort into church on Sundays?

Do you ever notice all the things that we used to do; when we were in the world (the world is what we Christians call everything outside of Christianity) that we no longer apply to church service? Like, when we are in the world, we would never be seen in the club with the same outfit. However, we don’t mind wearing the same outfits from 1988 to church. Why do you think that is?


Think about it. When we were getting ready for the club we go to the #beauty salon or #barber shop. We would step into the club slayed!!

Or, what about when we were headed over our boo's house. You know what we do. We would make sure that everything was conducive to the night you wanted to have. But, on Sunday, for some reasons, we don’t put in the same amount of effort into church. Where they do that at? When It comes to our Lord's house, We just come into the church looking any kind of way. the way we dress is not conducive to the type of blessing we want to have. You got to be prepared for when you catch the spirit. When you're shouting, you don't want to rip your pants. And you don't want to not be able to lie down in the spirit, because your dress to be too tight. Let's not forget the holier than thou shirts from being worn more than a month of Sundays. All I'm saying is-- you got to be prepared.


And at the same time-- why are we okay with the club having a #dress code?

But when the #church asking for your best you say “don’t the Bible say come as you are?" Let’s be real, what does that say to #Jesus? He isn’t due to the same preparations as we gave the devil? Last time I check he died for you. Not your boo. He doesn’t deserve more effort than them? (I mean) Where do our priorities lie?


“Now let me just say. When it comes down to it I am more concerned with a person’s need for salvation than the clothing that they wear.”


And, if you don’t have it you don't-have it. If all you have is one good church outfit. Then wear that. Don’t be afraid to come to church if you don’t have it. Wear what you have until you can do better.




Let me clarify real quick. For those of you that overdo it. This ain't for you.

You need an example? Like, when I hug you and half your makeup ends up on my dress. I’m not talking to you. If your suit can beat any 70's pimp outfit. I’m not talking to you.. If you look in the mirror on Sunday while pointing and say “this one gonna kill em!!" I’m not talking to you.. You may need to rethink your priorities as well.


All I’m saying is this, how we dress shows what we wish to communicate with others and God. What does your Sunday fit say about you?

Does it say I don’t want even to want to be here? I need to find my new husband? I need to find my new wife? I'm bringing this back in style! I am coming to worship him, or I want to live a life pleasing to my King?


Remember God is calling us to be #righteous.



Written By: Deborah McDonald




23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page