top of page
Writer's pictureVision Chronicle

Living My Blessed Life

Updated: Nov 27, 2019

Holy, But still having fun!

Written by: Deborah McDonald

Part 1


To the outside world, it may seem like being a Christian is the most boring thing one can ever do. A life without drugs, alcohol, clubbing, dancing. One might picture a Christ-life as one on nights at home reading the Bible, praying, church services and Bible studies. That is why Christianity is viewed as something that one does when they get older. Allow me to dive into this outdated view.


In this 2-part series, I will take you from living your Best Life to living your Blessed Life! First, I will tell you some of the things that Christians do for fun. Second, I will go out and let you see as I partake in these activities.


Best life vs. Blessed life


Contrary to popular belief, being a Christian is far from boring. Yes, we do go to church and read our bibles which are important to our livelihood. And to us, they are not boring! The bible is a juicy read; there are scandals, wars, romances, and clap backs. Everything we deal with is more than likely already written in the Word of God. Still, it's not all we Christians do. I asked around and here are some of the top things Christians like to do.


Out to Eat


Saints love social eating. Food just hits different after a service where the spirit has taken control. Saints enjoy many restaurants and home-cooked meals at someone’s house. This is

where I have the most fun, get to connect and network, share my struggles, and learn how laid back and funny the Saints are.


The food is likely anointed. Food is just better when you are enjoying it in an atmosphere of love and happiness. Besides, there are so many Christians owning restaurants and bakeries. Lots of lead cooks. We get to be a blessing while being blessed. I don't have to tell you (I mean, I still am)... Good Food + Good People = Good Time.


Shopping

Whether we are shopping for our Sunday's Best or looking to slay every day, Saints love to shop online and in-store. One of my favorites is Amazon and visiting the Outlet Malls. We also love to buy local and support each other’s businesses. You will see many of us wearing clothing created by our church members such as Anywear Faith or Chosen Designs.


Bowling


Even though I can't bowl to save my soul (Thank you, Jesus, for the cross), it is so much fun!! It is a group activity that allows you to not only exercise but competes against other people. If you don't want to play, you can still hang out and socialize. And it’s not that expensive if everyone in your group chips in.


Traveling

Travel broadens the mind and is relaxing. Whether we are visiting a Christian seminar, touring local landmarks, culturally exchanging with different cultures, or working in different areas, we

LOVE to travel. I enjoy visiting the beach, big cities, historic landmarks, and meeting new people.


Museums


Art, history, and science museums are wonderful! There is one for everyone and we love going to them. Visiting the replica of Noah's Ark is one of my favorite places to visit. Another museum that I love to visit is the Speed Art Museum. I have a soft spot for that one especially since it’s free on Sundays!! The Frazer and the Kentucky Sciences are also fan favorites. And not only are the exhibits the best part, but it’s healthy for you. I walk through the museum and burn at least 10 of the calories that I ate for Sunday dinner.


House Parties


Ok no so much like the ’90s and( not house parties that we partake in BC (before Christ).There

are many things to experience at a house party, such as great food to fun activities like dancing, movies, and other contests. Saints love to host and go to house parties.

Karaoke


Many Saints love music or singing. Some of our favorites are “Old Jams”. Karaoke is one of those activities that allow us to listen to some of our favorite music and sing. I’ve seen Saints bust out in a song whenever they felt compelled to. So, it’s not a surprise that we enjoy music.


Join me again for part 2 in the next issue where we discuss more ways the saints can be holy and still have healthy fun.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page